CBD Legal States Policy

Medical Cannabis Policy State by State: New Jersey

What is the legal status of cannabis in New Jersey?

On January 18, 2010, New Jersey passed the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA). Patients suffering from any of the below-delineated debilitating conditions, which have been found to be resistant to conventional medical therapy, may possess on the recommendation of a physician up to 2 ounces of usable Marijuana per 30 day period.

Patients are permitted to obtain up to 90 days’ worth, or 6 ounces, if there are three separate written notices from a physician allowing this.  There are no restrictions on methods of consumption, but it is strongly recommended to store and use your medicine only in your residence.  Permitted uses here include any and all CBD-dominant products. CBD oil derived from industrial hemp is 100% legal in all 50 states, as this plant never has more than trace amounts of THC, but is generally rich in CBD and other cannabinoids.

Eligible Conditions:

  • ALS 
  • Crohn’s disease
  • glaucoma
  • IBS
  • multiple sclerosis
  • muscular dystrophy
  • PTSD
  • seizure disorder including and in addition to epilepsy
  • intractable spasticity
  • terminal illness
  • and any of the following that has been provoked by the treatment of any of the above listed conditions.
    • cachexia
    • chronic pain
    • severe nausea
    • or wasting syndrome